Nerve transfer results

Forum for parents of injured who are seeking information from other parents or people living with the injury. All welcome
cinanina

Nerve transfer results

Post by cinanina »

I know we probably shouldn't do this because each case is different, but lets. I'm suggesting we do a "pole" about the results we see after surgery.

My son Sebastiao is 7 months. He had nerve transfer and neurolosys at 3 months. He could move his hand and shoulder but had no biceps function. In 3 months we've seen progress in the hand movement, more rotation of the shoulder but still no biceps function.

What happened to the cases you know?
admin
Site Admin

Re: Nerve transfer results

Post by admin »

It would definitely help if each person said what their injury was, avulsions, stretch or whatever, and which nerves were affected. Then we would know how good of a result they had.
cinanina

Post by cinanina »

Guest:
I'm not a doctor and I'm not english but I think when there is only stretch there is no need for a nerve transfer. Perhaps only neurolosys? But I don't know. Terms and procedures vary a lot in each country. Also if the doctors told me which nerves were injured I really didn't see what use I'd make of that information, so... I don't know which nerves were affected...
Sorry about the "pole", I meant "poll".
admin
Site Admin

Post by admin »

Some stretch injuries do need repair by transfers, most do not. Lower root repairs take longer to recover than upper root injuries because the nerves have further to grow, so which nerves are damaged and how they are damaged is very important. I am not english or a doctor, either!
Peyton and Teresa

Post by Peyton and Teresa »