choosing best doctor for surgery

Forum for parents of injured who are seeking information from other parents or people living with the injury. All welcome
Jane

choosing best doctor for surgery

Post by Jane »

I am new to the UBPN. My 10 week old daughter has OBPI with finger and wrist movement and a tiny bit of movement to her shoulders. Unfortunately, lately we have not seen much improvement. I understand that microsurgery may be in her future, and was wondering how do I choose the best doctor for her surgery. We (and our insurance) are not limited to a specific geographical area, except the US.

Also, can any parents reply about their surgical experiences with children having early microsurgery (e.g., 3 - 6 months) and what the outcomes were?

Thanks

Jane
claudia

Re: choosing best doctor for surgery

Post by claudia »

Jane:
A couple of things.
1. we have a medical resource page on this website. contact as many doctors as you feel comfortable with (I recommend at least two, three is better).
2. choosing a doctor is an incredibly personal decision. Some parents want a doctor, at this point, to just give them the facts and they don't care about bedside manner. Other parents really, really want a doctor who seems caring. Others want a doctor who seems to have a timeline for surgeries, as opposed to wait and see.

So, you have to start a dialogue with some of the docs. And then you and your husband need to decide if you want to be aggressive in your approach to the injury or not. Again, that decision is personal. This injury is life-altering, not life-threatening. Don't let people tell you that you "have to do a surgery". You don't. You can use multiple therapies and "life-style" therapy and move on.

We have been to many doctors. Our daughter, who is almost 7, has had three surgeries: nerve grafting at 4.5 months, "modquad" at 14.5 months, and biceps lengthening at 39 months. Not all the same doctors, but at the same hospital.