TV News Health Segment

Forum for parents of injured who are seeking information from other parents or people living with the injury. All welcome
clover317

TV News Health Segment

Post by clover317 »

Hi everyone,

My name is Staci, I am 25 years old and have a ROBPI. I am scheduled for the Mod Quad Surgery with Dr. Nath in January. I'm very excited to see what benefits I'll gain. After going my entire life being told by doctors that they've never seen anything like this and there's nothing that can be done... finally maybe there's some hope.

I work as a News Producer for a TV station in SLC..KUTV (CBS affiliate). I recently told my managers about my injury.. and that I'd be taking some time off work, etc when I have surgery. I also mentioned it would be a good idea to to a "Healthy Living" story about brachial plexus. They were amazed when I told them about my arm and how I've compensated, etc... and couldn't believe how self-conscious I am about it. So we're totally going to do a story and I'm really excited because I think more people need to know about it.

This is where you all come in... there are so many different angles... from awareness to treatment... malpractice... and the controversy over surgery on adults...etc, etc. Give me some feedback.. what you think should be covered. It may be a 2 minute piece.. or we may do something bigger during "February Sweeps".. and do several segments.

Let me know what you think...

Staci :)
richinma2005
Injury Description, Date, extent, surgical intervention etc: Daughter Kailyn ROBPI, June 14, 1997.
Surgery with Dr Waters (BCH), April 1999 and in February 2012
2 more daughters, Julia (1999), Sarah(2002) born Cesarean.

Re: TV News Health Segment

Post by richinma2005 »

Don't forget prevention...for OBPI!

http://ubpn.org/prevention

great info on there